Crushed Dreams and Sad Faces

You’re in the summer between your sophomore and junior year. Relaxing is the name of the game. Then one day you wake up and realize that college is just around the corner. Soon, you’ll be taking SAT’s and ACT’s and you’ll be stressed about getting into your dream school, if you even know where that is yet. You start looking at colleges, falling in love with some, not so much with others. Then you pick out where you want to attend, and you click on the ‘Tuition and Fees’ tab. That’s where it all goes downhill. You don’t have bad grades, but they’re definitely not good enough for a huge scholarship. You don’t qualify for financial aid but you don’t make enough money to afford your dream school. You’re stuck.

That’s where I am now. I know where I want to go, but it’s too expensive. I also have a few alternatives, but those are also costly. I’ve been searching for a job all summer, but it seems impossible to get one. My parents are supporting my sister, who’s attending college this fall. They’re also supporting my grandma, who we flew over here to heal from my grandpa recently passing away. If I were an only child, maybe it would be different. But giving colleges your yearly income doesn’t always show your need for financial aid. There are so many other necessary expenses that aren’t always seen. So here I am, writing a blog about it. Do I throw away my dream of going out-of-state for the traditional college experience, or do I submit myself to suffocating debt for the rest of my life? I’ve decided that a decision doesn’t have to be made right now. Instead, I’m going to do my best to save up money and sign up for essay scholarships to try and afford college (somewhat). I know full well that colleges can cost up to $240,000+ for four years, but maybe some miracle will happen in the next two years that will bring that amount down some. Wish me luck…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

